Quote from: Christopher on Yesterday at 07:39:08 PM
Looks like Kiva contracted out the sending and tracking of it (plus tracking on what links we follow etc) to constantcontact.com.
WHAT?
Dottie B
Pardon, why the need to shout??The email might have looked like it came from Kiva, and replies are sent back to Kiva (
contactus@kiva.org), but the actual message if you dig into the header details actually come from in.constantcontact.com.
It is not unusual for even the biggest multinational company to use an external professional company to manage email
spam promotions / newsletters. To send that many emails, even if it is in batches does take some bandwidth and power. You also need a system to allow people to unsubscribe, and the power / bandwidth to support the stat gathering about your recipients...
Kiva will be getting all sorts of facts, figures and stats from this little exercise - which is not a bad thing. If you look at the links within the email they look fairly complicated, this is a way of seeing who clicked what link, number of link followed. They probably also have a way to see if people actually received the email, when they opened it (how long it was left unopened!!).