I clicked on the question "Is WAFAA a religious organization," and got a general page with 14 other questions under 7 subject headings, in two columns. This is the url for that page:
http://www.wafaalend.org/view.aspx?show=helpThe "religious organization" question appeared again on that page, but clicking on it produced no result. I then clicked on the subject heading "About WAFAA," above the "religious organization" question, and that click took me to a page full of 16 questions, in a single column, with this url:
http://www.wafaalend.org/view.aspx?show=help&id=7The "religious organization" question appeared again, at the bottom of the list of 16 questions, and when I clicked on the question there - eureka! - at last, the answer came up:
"Yes, Wafaa is a Muslim non-profit organization that operates according to Shari’ah laws." The url of the page, which has no other information on it than this, is:
http://www.wafaalend.org/view.aspx?show=help&sol=77I believe the website is a little ragged and difficult to use to find information on.
I did find a "mailing address": Wafaa Limited, Scottich Provident House, 76/80 College Road, Harrow, Middlesex HA11BQ. They say this about their organization: "Wafaa is a non-profit organization registered with the CIC in the United Kingdom." To find useful info, you need to keep flipping back and forth between the page with the 16 questions, and the 16 pages which each contains a single answer. Start from here: http://www.wafaalend.org/view.aspx?show=help&id=7 I learned that WAFAA does not pay any interest to lenders, nor does it charge interest to borrowers. To fund their operations, they take a cut of 15.5% of each loan you may make. Here is what they say about that: "We are mainly funded by your generous donations, and also from the 15.5% we take for each lending process." But on a diferent page they say that 100% of what you pay goes to the entrepreneur, so I don't know how they reconcile those statements.
There are many similarities with Kiva, but I suppose no concept with great success could be without imitators for long. "Entrepreneurs" are chosen to receive funding by "Field Partners." Loans can stay on the site for "a month" before expiring, and a "default" is defined as six months having elapsed after the due date of the loan.
The "partners" page, which I believe means the Field Partners, lists 3 entities. They are FATEN, the logo of which is the same one I have seen on Kiva in connection with loans in Palestine, plus IMI and WAFAA. The Field Partners WAFAA and IMI appear to do business in Indonesia. I did not see any explanation of the relationship between WAFAA the Field Partner, and WAFAA the web platform for microlending.